Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner
1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
2006 chevy
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am relaying I formation from my non-car savy friend that lives three hours away. So you have been warned, lol. I am a mechanic, so there's that.

2002 trailblazer 200,000+ miles, stock.

If she goes out to her rig and the keyfob does not work, the engine will not crank. Keyfob works = engine crank and start.

I have been reading through Chilton and I am unclear if the keyfob has anything to do with the engine cranking. I know that the keyfob talks to the TailGate Module (TGM) and the TGM talks to the rest of the rig. But can the TGM shut down the crank circuit? I know from the Chilton wiring diagram that the crank relay solenoid has fused power to it and that it is ground-side switched by the ECU, so is it possible that the TGM is sending a bad signal to the ECU? Another possibility I have considered is that if the ECU thinks that it's in gear, it won't crank, but would that also disable the keyfob? It is my understanding that if it's in drive, the keyfob won't open the tailgate, but Chilton doesn't mention the door locks if it's in drive.

And then there is the security issue. I don't know if there is any chip or whatever in the key that keeps the car from starting. She mentioned the security light, but we have issues with the cluster. Lights and guages are intermittent and I have talked to a cluster fix shop and they told me that it is a common issue and can usually be fixed. But could something in the cluster be causing this non-cranking issue?

Additional information:

Alternator and battery are fairly new, have tested good and when it cranks, it cranks fast and starts easily.