Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2002 chevy trailblazer_ls
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry if this is a repost but I have done some searching and can’t find any info on exactly what I am looking for. During my searches I found this and this thread that talk about issues related to the HVAC system and the transfer case vacuum switch. Apparently Consumer Reports found it to be an issue and a couple of people here have posted about it, so maybe my search function skills just suck.

Anyway, I have checked the charge on the A/C system and it is fine (I work in the HVAC industry, am EPA certified and know how to check a refrigerant charge). The first symptom I noticed was my A/C is “fading” in and out. Sometimes nice and cold and sometimes not so much. This is while driving at highway speeds, so from what I can tell, the Sticky about poor A/C at an idle doesn’t apply. One of the things I found when checking things out is the compressor is running regardless of the position of the push button switch but it will turn off when I shut the fan completely off. I checked the compressor rely as neelskit recommended and even after it tested Ok I replaced it anyway (it was a cheap attempt and weird things can happened when relys weld themselves together), no luck. I do know the compressor shouldn't run all the time.

Another thing that is leading me to think the transfer case switch could be the culprit is; a few weeks ago (prior to having and A/C issues when it wasn’t as hot out) I noticed when I first started my truck the 2wd/4wd switch would blink for a few seconds. It has since stopped but it is connected to the transfer case (I would assume), so who knows. So, does anyone have any experience with the transfer case switch failing and symptoms leading up to failure? Could this be my issue? Is there a way to test it? I don’t want to change out any more parts without some type of reasoning or testing.