Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2004 gmc envoy_sle_xl
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My first post - please feel free to provide constructive criticism. I haven't worked on many vehicles since I was a certified mechanic 25 years ago. I'm grateful for this forum, and I have already learned much by reviewing similar posts. I'm going to start with the manifold problem. At first I thought it was a donut - but after removing the shield it appears to be the manifold gasket or - as I have discovered here - a cracked manifold. So last night I started the task of removing the manifold, but I didn't get very far. The nuts holding the triangular connector between the CC and the manifold are larger than 9/16, but too small for 5/8. I tried metric sizes as well. Am I stupid? Do I just need to get myself a 19/32 socket?

Also, suddenly the truck has no power. It starts and runs smoothly, but my OBD is showing a 0756 error (2-3 shift solenoid). Should I believe that, or are there other possible reasons for that code.

Thanks for your help. In return, I'll be glad to answer any computer questions you have!

·
Registered
2003 chevy trailblazer_ls
1,708 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Can't help on the socket size but sudden loss of power can be caused by a plugged cat.

·
Registered
137 Posts
It's probably 15mm sized. Use a hex socket. 15mm is a common size used on GM. A manifold leak could have the engine controls messed up.

·
Registered
2004 gmc envoy_sle_xl
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Update...