Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know this sounds like a simple fix and there are a lot of easy answers people will give me, like check the battery, does it crank. well all those were first thoughts as well. so let me set the stage a little bit. i am far from a mechanic, but i am not completely ignorant however i have no issue admitting when im lost. i am at this point, i have exhausted my skill and knowledge when it comes to this. i have limited tools and limited resources and limited patience. lol

here is the situation.
i have a 2007 Isuzu ascender 4x4 (this is the same thing as a trailblazer or envoy it was built in a GM plant), the truck only has 120k on it and is in good shape, clean and runs like a champ.

it was running just fine, then one day i went to move the truck from the driveway and i turn the key and nothing happened. the dash lights lit up but when i turned the key forward everything died. very similar to if a battery was dead. so i jumped the car thinking that was it. nope nothing. so i disconnected the battery thinking maybe it was some sort of weird code or something or anti theft or who knows. well the next day i reconnected the battery and the truck started up i was able to move it out of the drive way. so then the next day went to start it and bam nothing same issue as before. so i disconnected battery and reconnected it and nothing once again. so now i have been scratching my head and trying to exhaust my limited knowledge to try and fix it.

here is what i have done so far.

1) tried a brand new battery
2) checked and tighten all battery connections (even removed them and made sure they were clean)
3) checked the connections on the starter cables (all tight)
4) checked all fuses (no fuses were blown, dirty, or not seated correctly)
5) for good measures i replaced the starter relay
6) for good measure i replaced the ignition relay