Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Back in 2005 I was a service manager at a Chevrolet dealership. I remember seeing Trailblazers come in with transfer cases that had failed due to internal bearing/fork failure. We thought the bearing was way to small at the dealership to handle the load. Some of the cases had holes in them where the bearing failed and metal debris broke through the case. The inside of the case looked like metal soup. At that time Chevrolet didn't have a fix for the problem. I saw at least 5 to 10 of these during my tenure as service manager.

I own a 2005 Trailerblazer that my wife drives. This very same problem happened to her this last week. I believe the transfer case also took out the front end but and not sure since the vehicle is currently at a Chevrolet for diagnosis.

I have been told there is now an update transfer case that addresses the bearing/fork problem. Of course the vehicle is out of warranty now.

My question is: how many of you out there have experienced this type of problem? Did Chevrolet do anything about it? You help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
2002 chevy trailblazer_ls
4,125 Posts
I've never heard of the t-case grenading like that

Was the transfer case engaged when it happened? or just in 2WD? Was it engaged on dry pavement?
I've put mine thru its paces in the snow but the wheels always spin so I doubt anything bad can happen to it.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Transfer Case Problems on Trailblazer

The problem seems to happen when A4WD is selected and you are driving on slick roads (i.e. ice) and you hit a dry spot or visa versa. The bearing in the transfer case takes the "shock" and can't handle the load.

·
Basic Vendor- Skid Plates
2007 chevy trailblazer_ls
3,700 Posts