Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2006 gmc envoy_denali
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I changed my fuel sender on my own (everyone always says you can do it with a buddy) but just here's some tips before you venture underneath your car... Please keep in mind I am not a mechanic and the extent of my vehicular repair knowledge is limited to changing my oil and thats about it.

Please note that these are just tips that I wish I had known before I attempted replacing the fuel sender on my own. This is in no way meant to be a manual in how to do it and I don't assume responsibility if anything goes wrong.

This was on a 5.3L V8 Denali, but I don't think the regular 6 cylinder Envoy's would be much different.

Tools I used:
Hammer
Screwdriver
Jack/lift
Set of ramps
5-Gallon Canister of Gas

Above all... as everyone will say, make sure your tank is as empty as possible. If you're not sure, be safe and siphon the tank. Also, make sure you disconnect the battery terminal and the fuel pump fuse.

First: Check online for the price of the fuel sender; don't go to the dealerships. I paid about $80 including shipping for mine. Be sure to ask if a new gasket for the fuel pump comes included as you will need one once you remove the fuel pump. A good tip is if you really want to be safe, look up the price difference in an entirely new fuel pump. If it's not that big of a gap, definitely replace the fuel pump all at once as it should come with a new fuel sender already attached anyways and you can save yourself A LOT of time if that's the case, especially since I've heard a lot of complaints that once the fuel sender goes out, the pump itself is not far behind.