Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yes, I'm a newbie. And of course the reason I joined is because unlike other people, I have to try to figure out the vehicle problems on my own. With little to no money and being a single parent, I have had to take "Be a mechanic yourself" 101. Any instruction I can get on this course will be highly appreciated. This is my first Chevy as well as my first truck( this is what I call it)lol.

Thanks in advance.:tiphat:woohoo:

·
Banned
2004 gmc
26,181 Posts
There are about 20 things that can suppress the cruise control function, most of them error codes that also illuminate the "Service Engine Soon" light, but not always. Is your SES light on? You may have to take it to the dealer, who has the tech tool that can talk to the PCM (engine computer) and ask it why the cruise isn't working.

Any other maintenance history, or work done to the vehicle, or any other strange things you've noticed when the CC stopped working?

·
Registered
2005 gmc envoy_sle_xl
1,228 Posts
:tiphat welcome to the site there are tons of info on the site to help you with your troubles

·
Banned
2004 gmc
26,181 Posts
Yes, in the good old days, a cruise control was a separate electric or vacuum powered actuator that pulled on a chain and yanked the throttle cable just as your foot did.

Nowadays, it's all drive-by-wire electronic control, and the accel pedal isn't directly connected to anything but two sensors. And cruise control is a software function.

You may need to get a diagnostic visit at the dealer or a decent independent mechanic with a good scan tool that can ask the PCM why cruise has been suppressed. The data is retained especially for cases like yours.

·
Registered
2009 chevy
6,431 Posts
Hi Olive, before running to the dealer, let's see what we can do