Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2002 chevy trailblazer_lt
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm new to this please bear with me. I recently purchased a 2002 Chevy Trailblazer with 116 k miles. I began having problems with the battery so I installed a new one. Since then my keyless entry and remote start will not operate. when I press the lock or unlock on the remote the lights flash but nothing happens. I also replaced the battery in the remote to eliminate that as a problem. Any suggestions? Help! turpin38

·
Registered
11 Posts
Hi, I'm new to this please bear with me. I recently purchased a 2002 Chevy Trailblazer with 116 k miles. I began having problems with the battery so I installed a new one. Since then my keyless entry and remote start will not operate. when I press the lock or unlock on the remote the lights flash but nothing happens. I also replaced the battery in the remote to eliminate that as a problem. Any suggestions? Help! turpin38
if you only replaced the battery and this started happening, either a fuse popped or something did not get hooked back up duing battery install/removal (maybe the door lock and/or remote start had a lead running to the battery post)

or you are in valet mode, some alarm systems default to this when the battery dies to save the owner grief (not great protection from theives but saves women and non tech savvy drivers alot of grief - good alrms dothe opposite, they engage starter kills etc when battery dies or power ois removed to give thieves grief!)

possibly your system disables locks and remote start in valet mode

what is your status LED light look like? on solid, off, blink at all, etc? does it change status when you press your remote?

really this is all just random guesses unless you post what system you have and can maybe do some basic testing and research for me, like get under the dash, find the alarm brain and check the fuses, etc