Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2005 gmc envoy_slt_xl
21 Posts
I recently purchased a 2005 GMC Envoy XL SLT with the rear seat entertainment (DVD player)

I read on here that you can put in aftermarket stereo and maintain the DVD through the headphones, but I don't see anyone reporting *how* to accomplish it, I'm not a professional with this sort of thing, but I'm fairly good at it (if I do say so myself).

I'm curious as to how to accomplish that, as well as what some of the other limitations may be. I do see how to tap into the rear speakers, and will likely work towards that at some point.

I'm picking up a used AVIC D3 with all the bells and whistles this evening..
The unit, plus bluetooth, XM, Rear camera, iphone/ipod and such...

I know I'll need a Class II data device, I'm curious which one would be the best, I do eventually plan on using the OnStar, and do have the Bose sound system (I'm not sure which one though)

any help would be appreciated.

in digging it looks like I'll need this:

http://www.logjamelectronics.com/pacos2bose.html

plus the CM1 at the bottom, is that correct?

I am not sure due to the "applicatoin guide" showing the 2000-2004 TB SLT but the 02-07 TB regular.

Plus this for steering wheel controls:

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/t...c_mri?_encoding=UTF8&m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&v=glance

PAC SWI-PS Sony and Pioneer Steering Wheel Radio Control Interface

I've installed those in a Scion in the past, it needed soldering and such... is that the case with the GM version?

·
Registered
2006 chevy
2,079 Posts
i was under the impression that this was not possible
IT should work with the Headphones, No changes needed. The Overhead DVD transmits a RF signal to the headphone and allows the movie to be heard. Swapping headunits just takes away the RSE feature of playing over the factory Speakers

·
Banned
2004 gmc
26,181 Posts