Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2002 chevy trailblazer_ltz
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can you install a G80 locker in a rear differential that doesn't have one without getting a whole new rear end? I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to the actual mechanics of it...

·
Registered
68 Posts
yes you can buy a G80 locker. The issue is installation requires a skill set that most of us do not have. So in most cases its simply far easier, and alot of the time cheaper to just get a whole axle used with a g80 in it.

·
Registered
2,819 Posts
Yeah you can get just a G80 installed in your TB a competent axle shop can do it in maybe a day or in 1/2 a day or so. Like a shop here in Vegas called Dave's Driveline deals only with axles and well driveline parts and they quoted me before about 300-400 for everything to install one in my TB.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
G80

Would it be cheaper/easier to install to just find a used G80 axle at a junkyard or something and have a shop swap them out?

·
Banned
2004 gmc
26,181 Posts
I did precisely that, and upgraded to the stronger EXT rear axle at the same time for only $430 and a half day's work for two people.

·
Registered
2003 chevy trailblazer_ls
49 Posts
I did precisely that, and upgraded to the stronger EXT rear axle at the same time for only $430 and a half day's work for two people.
I have a few questions about this. First, I've seen some online 4wd stores list the 8.0 and 8.5/8.6 rear ends for the 02 and up TBs. So am I correct in assuming the SWB I6 have the 8.0 and only the LWB V8 have the 8.5/8.6? And second, did you reuse your stock brakes or did you change them as well? TIA.

·
Registered
2006 chevy trailblazer_lt
721 Posts