Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
2004 chevy trailblazer_ls_ext
406 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I couldn't really find a sub-forum for "project builds" so I put it here. Mods feel free to move it if it's in the wrong place.
I'm calling this “Project Snowball” for two reasons:
1: The color of my 2004 Trailblazer EXT is white.
2: Because that's what this project has sort of done.
Here's a picture of the victim, er... project vehicle:
Wheel Automotive side marker light Tire Automotive parking light Car

This started out as a simple (yea, right!) rear wheel brake job, but it's sort of snowballed, hence the name. The rear brakes started making a very loud squealing/grinding noise. I've been wrenching on cars for 44 years, so I knew what that noise meant: it's time for pads and rotors back there! I got the pads changed, but those rear caliper bracket bolts are on there mighty tighty! I'm sure it's partly due to corrosion, and partly due to the red thread locker that GM seems to be in love with! I tried using 'conventional' methods to get them loose, but they wouldn't budge. I have picked up a propane torch, a long 1/2” flex-head ratchet, and a Porter-Cable electric impact wrench. I'll get them loose!