Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
2004 chevy trailblazer_ls
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I realize that this is an overdone subject, but I'm new to the TB and have to get my two pennies in.

I just finished installing my Bilstein HD rear shocks. It's a three beer, 45 minute job. Couldn't be easier. Complete step by step process:

Set Parking Brake
Chock opposite tire
Beer and short "Should I really try this" thought
Loosen lug nuts
Jack up the rear side in question
Jack stand under the frame
Lower weight onto jack stand to extend suspension
Beer and consult with dog about whether to go through with this
Remove the tire
Remove upper bolt (18mm. Nut is fixed)
Remove lower bolt (18mm. Nut will spin until you realize that it is not fixed.)
Throw old shock near dog for fun.
Install shock with upper bolt first. (Upper bolt is not self guiding.)
Install lower bolt.
Figure out that torque wrench in toolbox is slightly undersized
Promise to get new torque wrench tommorow and tighten the crap out of the bolts.
Raise truck again
Reinstall tire
Remove jack stand
Lower truck
Tighten lug nuts
Lather, Rince, Repeat.

Have third beer, give dog a sip, hope shocks don't fall off on the way to Northern Tool in the morning for new torque wrench.

I hope to grow some larger Kahunas tonight before trying my new Harbor Freight Pitman arm puller and spring compressor on front tomorrow. (Apparently my life is worth $18 plus tax)

·
Registered
8,781 Posts
the pitman arm puller might scare some people.. it makes a loud bang when the lower strut mount is loosened off the bolt :eek:

I replaced my rear shocks and springs and front shocks and springs with DJM and Belltech... of course I had to grind off the top nuts for the front struts cuz they were rusted on..

·
Registered
2004 gmc envoy_slt_xl
1,356 Posts
I realize that this is an overdone subject, but I'm new to the TB and have to get my two pennies in.