Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2003 chevy trailblazer_lt_ext
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a '03 trailblazer LT EXT with the inline 6, loaded except for sunroof.
My wife was driving a couple of weeks back and the engine died. After pulling over it started back. That happened a couple of more times. Then when getting in to start, the gauges would go crazy, moving wildly before going normal, sometimes it would then start and sometimes not.
Now it will not start at all. The engine will not turn over, gauges move wildly, and also sometimes displays 'service brake system'. The airbag and brake lights also stay on even when the gauges go back to normal position.
Some of you are mechanics and I have read posts that say bad ignition switch. This may be my case as well, but what about the brake message?
Do any of you think this is one in the same?
I have been doing my own repairs for over 20 years and can do so if I can find the problem, I have checked all wiring as best I can, swapped batteries and cleaned posts and grounds and reseated and checked fuses.
Any help from you guys would be appriciated, on any problem that is even close to this one to give me ideas.

·
Registered
2003 chevy trailblazer_lt
92 Posts
My '03 TB LT acted very similar and it was the ignition switch... (It was still under warranty, so I didn't troubleshoot the car myself...) If you have a voltmeter and a wiring diagram, it should be easy to see if it's the key switch.

·
Registered
2009 chevy
6,431 Posts
:iagree: ignition switch. We have a "how-to" change thread on here, try the search function.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks Dshow, I am keeping watch for new posts, need to get repaired asap.