Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, this weekend I went off-roading I'm still kinda new to it maybe gone like 10 times but this time when I was ripping threw the water all of a sudden the truck shut off but all the electronics still worked.. I was wondring if it was maybe due to the starter getting wet or maybe the exhaust getting plugged but I've gone thew these pits before with no issues. Anyways when the truck stopped the water was upto the running boards and we had to rock the truck back and forth to get it to finally fire up but it struggled.

Anyways I was just wondering if anyone knows what this could be to help prevent it from happening again... And if you guys have any tips on things I should do to the truck before playing in mud and water..

P.S sorry for the bad grammer doing this on a cell

·
Basic Vendor- Skid Plates
2007 chevy trailblazer_ls
3,700 Posts
You got water in the air intake...

Did you ever get it restarted??

Replace the air filter. Take the plugs out, and turn the engine over with the starter. Dry the plugs off with compressed air. Put the plugs back in. Try to start it...

If you got too much water into the engine, you can break connecting rods, ring lands, etc... If you get too much water in an engine, and you're running at too high a throttle (let too much in at once), or too high an RPM, you can totally destroy your engine... like "go get another engine from a junkyard" destroy it...

You can stop it from happening again by GOING SLOWER THROUGH WATER!!! so it doesn't splash up into the engine compartment and the air intake...

You can also be the first one on here with a snorkle, if you're doing a lot of water crossings...