Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2004 chevy trailblazer_lt
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm hoping I can pick the brain of some of the experts here. I'll start by saying I'm far from a car expert, but I can usually tell when something isn't acting the way it should.

It's a 2004 Trailblazer with the 4.2L I-6. A humming/gutteral sound started at high (50+ mph) speeds on the highway a month or so ago. Initially I thought it might be the muffler finally going, but it quiets down (almost to the point where I can't hear anything) when driving more slowly. After some searching on the board, I thought it might be the wheel bearings going, but I jacked up all four wheels (After finding no play with just the front ones) and I wasn't able to detect any movement wiggling the tires at the top and bottom. (Maybe I'm just not experienced enough to pick up a slight wiggle though...)

I have found that it still happens with the transmission in neutral, all my fluid levels are topped off and look OK...but it DOES get much quieter when steering even the slightest bit to the right...which makes me think wheel bearings again...have they just not gone enough for me to feel the wiggle, but are on their way out?

I'm happy to try anything suggested, even if that's to bite the bullet and bring it for a diagnostic to the local mechanic...

Thanks all!

·
Banned
2004 gmc
26,181 Posts
Our sealed wheel bearings almost always fail and make horrible noises with the weight of the vehicle on them, and none of this can be detected on a lift or on jack stands. It's so sneaky that multiple people including me :eek: have changed the WRONG ONE. :bonk: :duh: :dielaugh:

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·