Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys. I am a noob here but I just picked up an '03 Envoy SLT. It has almost every option offered but no XM. I am not even sure whether or not it was offered in '03. My radio has the "AM/FM button but I bought a radio on ebay for an '03 Envoy with the "Band" button in place of the AM/FM button. So...

The radio face is identical other than the one button. It is the Single CD, No cassette stereo... Again, neither radio is a Bose unit. I have ordered a Costar BluestarII bluetooth module to replace the Onstar box with to be able to use my cell hone hands free instead of having a defunct Onstar system. I also want to add Satellite radio (which is why I bought the newer radio; I understand that the one with the AM/FM button will not work with an OEM satellite tuner, although the Costar Bluestar II will work either way.)

So, I also understand that the dealer (or my buddy with his Tech II) has to erase the vin number in the new stereo to unlock it. Aside from installing an antenna for the sat receiver and getting the interface cable, is there anything else I need to know about to make this swap work?

Also, where would the sat receiver have been mounted in the vehicle if it had one? I would like to try to put everything in the stock location.

I searched and could not find any information for the non-Bose units. Thanks in advance!
 

·
Registered
2005 trailblazer_lt
Joined
·
108 Posts
OK,.... I've seen diagrams from the 02 and the 04 for the "base" ( non-BOSE) radio systems; They are different, so I don't know how the 03 is wired & I don't know if the 03 had Sat Radio or not either.

Here are the schematics for the 02 and the 04: The 02 schematics mention that the "Radio Antenna Module" is mounted on the "right rear of headliner". Don't know it's purpose ( RDS? ) but wanted to point it out. The 04 used a "Digital Radio Receiver" that got mounted on the pass side dash hush panel and a "vehicle communication interface" under the pas side rear seat.

If you don't have rear seat audio then speaker wires run directly from the radio to the speakers.

( ** Worth mentioning that I've got a decent set of non-BOSE speakers aftermarket available..... my 04 was wrecked and the 05 TB that replaced it has BOSE. )

2002 Radio:


2004 Radio:




* right click on pic and copy link address to browser address bar for full sized images.

When it comes to the Theftlock,.... I haven't figured it all out yet, but it seems like the non-NAV radios have to be "reprogrammed". The NAV radios can get a simple "VIN re-learn" done using just the hand-held Tech 2. That doesn't seem to work for the non-NAV radios...... At least not for me yet ! ( I've got a Tech 2, but no laptop or PC running Windows XP. ) I was able to "relearn the VIN" when installing a replacement NAV BOSE unit into my 05 TB with the hand held,..... but I was not able to get an 05 non-NAV BOSE head unit to unlock. The "re-learn the VIN" option was only available in the Tech 2 for NAV radios.



:cool:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks John.

RDS is encoded into the FM signal and does not require any additional antennae to decode it. It is injected into the 57kHz subcarrier of a radio station's signal. As you travel further from the transmitter, the RDS data will stop showing up before you lose the station.

Anyway... the dealer told me that they would be more than happy to unlock the radio for me for the cost of an hour's labor ($112.00). I don't seem to know anyone with a Tech II scanner.

All in, I am into "upgrading" from one factory radio to another for almost $400 so far - and that's BEFORE I locate a satellite receiver module and wire that up. It's turning into a lot of effort for not a lot of payoff. I am doing this because I don't want to lose my factory chimes or any of the steering wheel controls and to retain my Onstar controls.

I know, I could have bought an aftermarket Android-based double din touchscreen/nav/bluetooth/SAT-Ready unit to use my SWC300 satellite tuner. The problem is - aftermarket chime unit and loss of the use of the climate control steering wheel controls. I know... pretty anal since I will then have to mount a tablet for navigation since I travel to a LOT of places I am unfamiliar with.

Sometimes I start down the wrong path and get past the point of no return before realizing I should have taken a different path... This seems like one of those times...
 

·
Registered
2005 trailblazer_lt
Joined
·
108 Posts
:dielaugh:

Your not alone,.... I did the same dam thing ! :bonk: Started out wanting to replace my NAV radio due to worn buttons. It worked fine, didn't look so good. While searching for a radio I read that the LUX BOSE was better sounding than the than the non-LUX,... so rather than spending $60 on buttons I spent a few hundred on a replacement radio. Had to get the LUX AMP too, & ended up with 4-5 of them by the time I purchased a radio. Then I bought a Tech 2 so I could unlock it ( NOT paying the dealer ever again! ) and now that I've got a Tech 2 I need to buy Windows XP in order to do any SPS programming. All told I've got spent over $600 on this little audio project :duh: when set of new buttons was all that was really needed. ( Sure; I'll get my $$ worth out of using the Tech 2 for the rest of the life of my truck - but you get the idea !! )

I visit the local bone yards ever other week or so. If you want me to pick up a digital XM receiver and antenna for you just let me know. I'll get it cheap enough and it would cost $18 or less to ship the package. I can't give you a price before I buy them, but I'm there often and those guys are pretty fair with me.

:cool:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Sounds like we both suffer from the same thing here. My original plan was to move the (2 month old) Pioneer head unit and active add on Sirius tuner from my van to the Envoy. I am taking my "Clown and Country" van out of service, so the factory stuff goes back in pre-sale.

So... I already had pretty much everything I needed. I even got a replacement bluetooth microphone so I didn't have to take the old one out. A 60 dollar SWC controller and a 20 dollar dash install kit and I would have been good... but NO!!!

I started looking at double din nav units. I was pretty particular - I wanted Android OS, Satellite ready (compatible with my Sirius tuner), have NAV and Bluetooth. I found one for around 400 bucks. Then I thought that rather than to spend the money on that, I would figure out how to make it work with my factory unit. A little research, a bluetooth/Onstar replacement module, a head unit with the "BAND" button and dealer unlock fees and I could have had a stereo I could have controlled the space station with...

I digress...

I have read that the satellite tuner will also have to be unlocked prior to use. I thought I might wait to install the new stereo until I have everything here and ready to go so I can have them flash both units at the same time instead of making 2 trips at $112. each.

Your post got me thinking about the GM Tech II scanner and I did a search. Did you use the clone version all over the Internet for around 300 bucks? While looking at those and visiting a couple of other GM vehicle forums, I came across a laptop version with an OBDII adapter for around $130.00. After verifying that it can force a VIN relearn on the radio, I bought it. I'll let you know how that works out.

I need to find out where the satellite radio module is located and what kind of wiring it is going to take to get it connected. I suspect I am going to have to break out the soldering iron and make a harness up for it out of pieces-parts.

I have a buddy that owns a local boneyard. He crushed 6 of these in the last few weeks and said that he gets them in all the time. He gives me really good prices (free, usually because he found out that I am the announcer voice on one of his favorite Velocity channel shows. LOL!) Still, have a look if you are out and see what you can come up with. I would really like to get this wrapped up and working... Actually, I am sort of hoping the radio installation fairy will just come over and wave his magic wand over it and have it instantly done and working. LOL!
 

·
Registered
2003 gmc envoy_slt
Joined
·
5 Posts
My replacement unit

Thanks John.

RDS is encoded into the FM signal and does not require any additional antennae to decode it. It is injected into the 57kHz subcarrier of a radio station's signal. As you travel further from the transmitter, the RDS data will stop showing up before you lose the station.

Anyway... the dealer told me that they would be more than happy to unlock the radio for me for the cost of an hour's labor ($112.00). I don't seem to know anyone with a Tech II scanner.

All in, I am into "upgrading" from one factory radio to another for almost $400 so far - and that's BEFORE I locate a satellite receiver module and wire that up. It's turning into a lot of effort for not a lot of payoff. I am doing this because I don't want to lose my factory chimes or any of the steering wheel controls and to retain my Onstar controls.

I know, I could have bought an aftermarket Android-based double din touchscreen/nav/bluetooth/SAT-Ready unit to use my SWC300 satellite tuner. The problem is - aftermarket chime unit and loss of the use of the climate control steering wheel controls. I know... pretty anal since I will then have to mount a tablet for navigation since I travel to a LOT of places I am unfamiliar with.

Sometimes I start down the wrong path and get past the point of no return before realizing I should have taken a different path... This seems like one of those times...
Just to add a few comments about my replacement. It’s been a few yrs, probably 2012 when I replaced the Bose with a pioneer avh-p4400bh, Bluetooth, dvd head unit. Added the xm receiver (in the back storage well) as well, all for about $600 back then. The steering wheel controls all still work without any loss of function using their interface cable. Not sure what you refer to about chime unit.
 

·
Registered
2005 trailblazer_lt
Joined
·
108 Posts
The Satellite radio receiver in my 05 is screwed to the pass side hush panel,..... there is another little box under the pass side rear seat too,... I *think* that's the radio "interface" that's shown in the 04 diagrams above. ( don't forget the antenna too ! )


Yup,.. I've got the Tech2 'knock off'; just gotta' get Windows XP so I can put the scanner to full use. It saved me from a trip to the dealer to remove the Theftlock from my NAV head unit and I'm sure it will pay for itself before 2018 is over.

:cool:
 

·
Registered
2003 gmc envoy_slt
Joined
·
24 Posts
I have an 03 SLT with the Bose. I do believe Sirius wasn't available till 04. I bought an FM modulater and send Sirius from my cell phone through via Bluetooth. Works for me. My Wife's 17 Outback Touring has a 3 year subscription to Sirius which I've loaded on my desktop and cell phone.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
The box under the right rear seat is where the Onstar module is located. There is another module in there underneath the Onstar box but I don't know what it is.

I got my newer radio yesterday and my knock off Tech II Laptop version today. I still want one of the handheld clones but I didn't want to wait a month for it to arrive...

FM Modulator? Naaa. No thanks. I would like to have it as close to a factory install as I can get it. If that means making harnesses to interface the units, that's what I'll do. I never cared for the "adapters" like the cassette adapter or FM Modulators. I would rather not have it at all. I am just anal, I suppose.

As for the antenna, I got one from a Dodge Charger. I would rather have a factory GM style one but I couldn't find one. I may still find one at the boneyard sooner or later... Sort of like the XM receiver module I don't have yet. Haahaahaa!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Well, I got the Tech II Windows kit from Amazon. Installed it, changed the stereo and it did not have the option to have the radio relearn the vin, so it didn't work. There went a whole Saturday for no payoff...

I guess that once I get a sat receiver, I will put it all together and just let the stealer have my 130 bucks. Meh. Such as it is.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
WEnt to the stealer and they were unable to reprogram the radio. I know it works because I can take power away for 5 minutes and the radio will work as long as I don't turn the ignition past the ACC position. I can losten, save presets, adjust settings, etc. As soon as I turn the ignition on, it locks.

The dealer tried the Tech II tool and another computer based tool but no joy. The radio simply won't unlock. Am I missing something?
 

·
Registered
2005 trailblazer_lt
Joined
·
108 Posts
I wish I had some solid answers for Ya'... but I just don't KNOW. For the last couple months I've had to focus on my more common habits/hobby and haven't been able to mess with the TECH 2 much at all yet. ( Still need XP !)

I THINK : the non-NAV radios need to have "Service Programming" performed in order to be re-programmed. The NAV unit VIN re-learn was supper easy, but the non-NAV head units don't follow the same instructions because the TECH-2 doesn't show the same menu options for non-NAV radios.

I tried to program a 05 TB BOSE CD player in my 05 BOSE TB and could not. It would behave exactly as you describe; everything worked fine until the key was turned forward. With only the Tech-2 I could not re-program the non-NAV radio. Then I installed A (LUX) NAV BOSE head-unit; took about 2 minutes to figure out how to re-set the VIN.


:cool:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
Correct me if I am wrong here but all of the nav units require BOSE, no? Therefore, I think a factory nav is out for me.

I have been looking on ebay for a stereo like mine with the "BAND" button. Until yesterday, the application guide says it is not compatible with an '03. Only 04+.

I finally found a seller who listed one and says it is compatible. He needed my vin and RPO code to program it. I hope it works. I have already installed an aftermarket Sirius receiver that works with the factory stereo (provided it has the "BAND" button...) I know it works because when I was able to turn the radio on (before turning the ignition on and causing it to lock). I could hear the preview channel and it has XM1 and XM2 for presets.

I have already installed the Bluestar II module in place of the OnStar box to give me bluetooth functionality in place of OnStar. It works but is a bit shakey. The volume sometimes goes so quiet that I can't hear the caller over the road noise at full volume. The only fix I have found is to plug it to the computer and reprogram it and then reinstall it. Fortunately, it is easy to get to. Still, for over 300 bucks, it should work better than that.

I will have to come back and update once I get my ebay stereo. If it doesn't work, I may have to resign myself to swapping to an aftermarket unit... which I DON'T want to do...
 

·
Registered
2005 trailblazer_lt
Joined
·
108 Posts
Correct me if I am wrong here but all of the nav units require BOSE,
NO,..... The non-BOSE Nav is: Part number 15811289


I also installed an AUX adapter on my stereo system. It's hooked into the XM wiring harness and when I push the BAND button on the radio for XM music from my phone plays on the XM band. If a call comes in the phone sees that the AUX is plugged in and auto-switches to speaker mode (hands free). The AUX adapter was cheap,... you can even make one for next to nothing.

:cool:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
I like the option to add in an aux function. I would like to be able to listen to bluetooth. The Bluestar module has a separate audio output jack to be connected to the Aux input. As it is right now, the only thing I can do bluetooth related is make and receive calls and ask the google assistant random questions like... "How far to the nearest Hardee's"
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Top