Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2003 chevy trailblazer_lt_ext
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a novice mechanic, just been working on my cars. I just bought an 03 trailblazer with 86K miles. I bought it on a cold day so I didn't notice the AC wasn't working until later. I have the sliders (manual control) for the AC.

I put two 24 oz of r134a in. When I was filling it the AC was blowing ice cold air. The next day, nothing. I hooked up my gauge (came with the r134) and it read 0 pressure on the low side. Logically that said leak. Unfortunately I was unable to find any flourescence (the refrigerent had the dye) on the system I was able to get to. Is there a common place these things leak? Any suggestions as to where I should look?

With the help of previous threads, I was able to figure out that I have a bad fan clutch: clicking sound at cold start up that disappears when I pull the plug. Could that cause zero pressure? I am probably gonna replace the clutch anyway but I would like to know if that will likely fix the problem or not.

I would love to check the compressor but don't know how or even where it is. (no owners manual or other reference material to go by).

Any help I can get would be appreciated.

thanks

·
Registered
2003 trailblazer_lt
9,856 Posts
I put two 24 oz of r134a in. When I was filling it the AC was blowing ice cold air. The next day, nothing. I hooked up my gauge (came with the r134) and it read 0 pressure on the low side. Logically that said leak. Unfortunately I was unable to find any flourescence (the refrigerent had the dye) on the system I was able to get to. Is there a common place these things leak? Any suggestions as to where I should look?
Did you check the lines going back to the rear unit? From what I've read that is common area for leaks in the lwb trucks.