Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a long time Ford driver that switched to a Trailblazer EXT (06 w/ 24K but out of warranty) for mileage and room. After 50 miles a whine or squeal started. It is progressive with engine speed. I am new to these engines and have been looked thru the relivant posts.

I played with the tensioner a and it seemed to get worse including down to 1000 RPM.
There are no cooling or charging issues nor any lights.
It is note a roar and doesn't seem to be coming from the fan clutch.
I checked the AC clutch. It does not change with AC on or off.
The sound seems to be more previlent at the tensioner and power steering pump (screwdriver to the ear).
There is no change or noise with steering pressure and the PS pump pulley spins pretty freely.
I swaped out the tensioner bearing (Gates), no change.
I then applied more tension to the tensioner and the noise stops. I tried swaping out the tensioer with a new Dayco with the same result. The belt does seem to have a lot of slack compared to other vehicles I've worked with. More than 3/4". The belt is a gates (K060905) which I believe is correct for the EXT.

I am thinking it could be a stretched or glazed belt. I have tried belt dressing. Next step is to try a new belt.

There is a dealer warrranty but it has a $100 deductable and the dealer is a ways away so I am just trying to fix it before I take it in. If it is the waterpump or the fan clutch I will take it in, it should be covered.

My hunch is still a belt issue. Bearing noises generally don't go away with more tension.

I have been following your forums for a while before buying. Though I'd throw this one out there as a last try. Any thoughts on these specific symptoms? Thanks

·
Registered
2005 chevy trailblazer_ls_ext
2,667 Posts