Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to this and have very little mechanical knowledge...... Im thinking of getting a STS turbo charger on my 2006 TBSS. Is that a good buy? Or should I go for a magnacharger?

·
Registered
2003 chevy trailblazer_lt
425 Posts
Coke vs Pepsi. Freddy vs Jason. Turbochargers vs Superchargers. The debate has raged since the model t. you ask the question witch is better, turbocharger or supercharger? to 2 people and you will get 3 answers. there really is no clear cut answer as to which method of forced induction is better. They both have advantages and disadvantages, and when it all comes down to it, either one will give you a considerable boost and power. The ultimate choice comes down to you and what best suits your driving style.

·
Northwest Chapter
11,824 Posts
What he said.

What is your goal buying the STS or Magnacharger? Are you looking for lots of HP or lots of TQ down low? Im looking for the latter so Ill go with a Magnacharger as it makes instant boost. Thats my plan, but its up to you and what you want to have your truck do in the end.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
LOL

Both sounds great, but that will put a hole in the pocket. Im definitely in for the TQ but magnacharger is a bit more expensive. On the other hand, im skeptical about this STS.

·
Northwest Chapter
11,824 Posts
I havent actually seen a Magnacharger setup in person but I have seen both a Procharged TBSS with an LS3, vette intake manifold, and custom bracketry to have the accessory drive system work properly and a custom STS TBSS with a LS2 416ci, the works. Not sure what else both guys have in their trucks but the mods list is about a page and a half long. The Procharged one is making 630awhp while the STS one is 600awhp-ish at 10psi but is setup to run 16-18psi, just working the tuning kinks out.