Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner

121 - 140 of 179 Posts

·
Registered
2005 chevy trailblazer_lt
Joined
·
1,339 Posts
Discussion Starter #121
im installing a 350w amp, im not hooking it up yet because im scared to take off my factory headunit and mess something up...

since its a 350w amp, could i still use the rear fuse box for power?

This is only temporary until tax season, then i will have a bigger amp put in from my battery itself.

but for short term limited usage of my amp/subs would it be alright to use the rear fuse box?

I don't recommend it. GM ran a wire to that fuse box - large enough to handle what they wanted it to do. When do they ever say "lets use a wire that's way too big and costs twice as much"?

When I wrote this, I ran 4ga. and later changed it to 2ga.
So I would run a wire from the battery large enough to handle what you plan to have later - that way that's done.

Also in the guide for the rear fuse box install, how would i go about hooking up the remote wire to that fuse? do i need to solder it on or what?
I don't know what the fuse taps are called - I'm sure auto parts stores have them.
 

·
Registered
2007 chevy trailblazer_ls
Joined
·
49 Posts
*EDIT*

Now that i see that the wire boot is really close to the battery terminal, it makes me more at ease with doing the amp myself.

the cable kit i got is from wal-mart its a scosche 8 gauge kit. the fuse is in a plastic type holder, would it be ok to put it under the hood? or should i get a different one to put on? (i'll put in a pic if anyone cant figure out what im talking about)

And also where would i put the little blue wire? could i still put it in the back fuse box? I dont have bose/a rear amp.

and if someone would be kind enough to maybe link the battery adapter and the fuse adapter id need, from advanced auto parts id be much obliged.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
I need help car wont start

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Okay, so i was filling up gas, and i went to go start my car again, and it all just died. everything. literally. the key is stuck in the ignition, my steering wheel is NOT locked up, i am stuck in park no matter how many times i press on the brakes and pray that it will be mobile again, and yeah. i had it towed to my house.

ALSO,
I did just do a pioneer deck install, a kicker amp install and a kicker solo baric L5 10" sub installed. When i finished the install everything was working fine overnight and i ran the car and started it several times before it died. Please help me.
 

·
Registered
2002 gmc envoy_slt
Joined
·
3,552 Posts
*EDIT*

Now that i see that the wire boot is really close to the battery terminal, it makes me more at ease with doing the amp myself.

the cable kit i got is from wal-mart its a scosche 8 gauge kit. the fuse is in a plastic type holder, would it be ok to put it under the hood? or should i get a different one to put on? (i'll put in a pic if anyone cant figure out what im talking about)

And also where would i put the little blue wire? could i still put it in the back fuse box? I dont have bose/a rear amp.

and if someone would be kind enough to maybe link the battery adapter and the fuse adapter id need, from advanced auto parts id be much obliged.

what is a wire boot?

you talking about the rubber "boot" down by the break pedal?

the plastic fuse holder is fine, make sure that you mount it somewhere safe, by that i mean the wire not gonna get cought up in anything.

what blue wire are you talking about?

also dont know what a battery adaptor is? you mean like a battery extention blot?
 

·
Registered
2002 chevy trailblazer_ltz
Joined
·
219 Posts
Hi all,

Just throwing this out there. I am a certified MECP Installer and can answer most of your auto installation questions. Just shoot me a message if you have any problems and I will do what I can to help you solve it. I have been certified every 2 years since 2004. I have to renew it every two years that is. So I will do what I can to help. Thanks for reading.:tiphat
 

·
Registered
2002 chevy trailblazer_lt
Joined
·
74 Posts
Lets start with running the wire from the battery. Maybe 8 gauge is enough, I used 4 gauge.
You’ll need an adapter (car parts or stereo shop) to hook up to.
Before

After

Then to a fuse holder.

To get the wire inside the truck, I went inside with a screwdriver and poked a hole through the trucks wiring harness boot, then when I fished the wire through – it was pretty tight – but I’ll probably silicone it too.

Lift the plates off at the front and back door sills and run the wire back to in under the back seat – then put a slice in the carpet and fish it to another slice where your amp is.





Now to the factory amp. Remove the passenger side rear plastic pieces. I don’t have pictures of that, just do it! If there isn’t a visible screw (one large torx for the seatbelt, a phillips partway back and a knob at the rear hatch), it’s just snap connectors – just pull them off.

The rear speaker wires are the lower plug. (for my 05 TB)
Brown – left rear+
Yellow – left rear-
Dark Blue – right rear+
Light Blue – right rear-

Tap into the wire by stripping a section of insulation off. Here’s the dark blue.

Solder and tape the connections. You can see I also tapped into the top plugs pink wire – it’s the remote turn-on wire for the amp.



Then run the speaker wires (the ones you just tapped into at the factory amp) to the amp you’re installing. My Rockford amp has hook-up for speaker level input so I’m using that (at least until I replace the head unit!) - (if you’re using a line-out-converter you’d wire it in somewhere between here and there). I ran them front and underneath the rear seat and with another slice’n fish under the carpet to the amp.

Then run your speaker wires (from your new amp) to your speakers.
You probably have to write the rest yourself – but I’ll show you what I did!
I ran them back under the carpet and up the corner post.



and a short one to my sub (everything REALLY needs cleaned up – oh well!)

Looking back.

Rock on!:D
what parts did you get and how much wattage
 

·
Registered
2006 chevy trailblazer_ss_3ss
Joined
·
5 Posts
Couple of questions for those with the Bose system who connected your amps to the pre-out connections before the Bose amp and not after.

1. Do you still have bass roll off issues at higher volume levels?

2. Are really low frequencies (below 60hz) getting cutoff?

3. Do the rear and front pre-outs sound different just like when tapping into the outputs after the amp?

4. Why are you using a line level converter if the signal is already low voltage?

5. If the line level converter has to be used to remove some signal noise, which one did you use?


For questions 1 - 3, I'm trying to figure out if all the crappy equalization for the Bose speakers is happening at the amp or the HU.
 

·
Registered
2002 gmc envoy_slt
Joined
·
3,552 Posts
4. Why are you using a line level converter if the signal is already low voltage?

5. If the line level converter has to be used to remove some signal noise, which one did you use?


For questions 1 - 3, I'm trying to figure out if all the crappy equalization for the Bose speakers is happening at the amp or the HU.
you use the line level converter so you can use RCA's, so you can add a sub. it has nothing to do with sound processing.
 

·
Registered
2006 chevy trailblazer_ss_3ss
Joined
·
5 Posts
you use the line level converter so you can use RCA's, so you can add a sub. it has nothing to do with sound processing.
If the signal before the amp is already line level (2-5v) why not just solder some RCA's onto the wires, heat shrink it nicely, and be done? If that has not worked for some, then I'm guessing the signal may be different than your typical line out.
 

·
Registered
2002 gmc envoy_slt
Joined
·
3,552 Posts
If the signal before the amp is already line level (2-5v) why not just solder some RCA's onto the wires, heat shrink it nicely, and be done? If that has not worked for some, then I'm guessing the signal may be different than your typical line out.
line level converter is a little easier to use, less learning curve.
 

·
Registered
2006 chevy trailblazer_ss_3ss
Joined
·
5 Posts
So if I plan on replacing all my speakers and go through an aftermarket amp, should I just use the front outputs? Also, should I look into getting a JL cleansweep, or should it sound decent when using the outputs before the Bose amp?
 

·
Registered
2002 chevy trailblazer_ltz
Joined
·
11 Posts
im confused!!

so after various days reading and re-reading this post and several others about amp/subs install i came to these conclusions:
1.run power wire from battery
2.tap into bose amp with a pac- or any line in converter.

but the two thing that confuse me are ground and remote turn on wires location:crazy:. ive read several options but havent quite got a clue of which one is the best.
im getting the converter this week and already wired the power wire from battery so its redy to go. i just need you guys to help me with those questions so i dont burn/fry anything. thanks in advance.:thx
 

·
Registered
2002 gmc envoy_slt
Joined
·
3,552 Posts
so after various days reading and re-reading this post and several others about amp/subs install i came to these conclusions:
1.run power wire from battery
2.tap into bose amp with a pac- or any line in converter.

but the two thing that confuse me are ground and remote turn on wires location:crazy:. ive read several options but havent quite got a clue of which one is the best.
im getting the converter this week and already wired the power wire from battery so its redy to go. i just need you guys to help me with those questions so i dont burn/fry anything. thanks in advance.:thx
you can ground it using one of the tie down hooks in the back or one the bolts that holds down the seats(i prefer the second)

the the remote turn on, people seem to have good luck with tapping into the rear fuse box, number 33 for the rear wiper.
 

·
Registered
2006 chevy trailblazer_ls
Joined
·
3 Posts
You don't need an RCA converter. An RCA converter take an amplified signal (high level) and converts it to an unamplified (low level) signal which is what most amplifiers accept for input. If you tapped into the wires coming out of the headunit (pre amplifier) then it's already a low level signal and you can just splice the RCA wires directly in. You don't need the RCA converter.
Why would I splice the RCA wires in? Its a cheap job to do that and it was much cleaner just to shave the insulation off of the low freq. wires, and tie in the RCA converter so I could run the RCA cable to the amp. That is what I did and it sounds incredible. I wasn't converting sound, just the low level frequency to RCA. I have had it hooked up this way for 6 months now and I am very impressed.

The factory stereo sounds great. The reason I did this instead of aftermarket radio was the 6 disc changer and the SIRIUS/XM, although I cancelled XM.
 

·
Registered
2007 chevy trailblazer_lt
Joined
·
40 Posts
i'm gonna be replacing all 6 speakers in my tb this weekend and running them off a new amp but instead of running all new wire can i just unplug the bose amp in the back and use the current wires?
 

·
Registered
2005 chevy trailblazer_lt
Joined
·
1,339 Posts
Discussion Starter #139
I cut the wires for the front door and did that. (capped the wires out of the amp and hooked the output of new amp to the wires to the front door) (thanks andrew)

I left the factory amp hooked to the dash speakers so I have the chimes, bells, whistles, warnings, and onstar.

I suppose you could unplug it but you'll still be cutting the wires - so why not just cut the ones you need:undecided.
 

·
Registered
2007 chevy trailblazer_lt
Joined
·
40 Posts
well i have no need or want for onstar and with the aftermarket deck i put in i turned the chime volume all the way down so its no use to me either. and if ur gonna say what if i deside to sell it. well i see no need for me to sell it till my loan is up and by that time i'll prolly just hit a deer and take the insurance money for a down payment on something new. gotta love redneck thinking haha so off that bose amp would i want to go off the bottom plug or the top plug?
 
121 - 140 of 179 Posts
Top