Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner
1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
2006 chevy
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I wrote about this on another thread but I dont know how many people looked at it.
I am a machinist so it was a easy free thing for me. If you know a machinist or a machine shop this can be done in about 10 min.(a shop should not charge much)

I machined a groove the same diameter and width 1-3/8" lower on the strut. It has the same ride as stock:)

some pics.

I did this about 2 months ago and I have had no problems, I did cut the bump stop in half.

·
Registered
1,741 Posts
thats nice and easy if you have the means to do it like yourself of anyone who knows someone with your skills

·
Registered
236 Posts
I wrote about this on another thread but I dont know how many people looked at it.
I am a machinist so it was a easy free thing for me. If you know a machinist or a machine shop this can be done in about 10 min.(a shop should not charge much)

I machined a groove the same diameter and width 1-3/8" lower on the strut. It has the same ride as stock:)

some pics.

I did this about 2 months ago and I have had no problems, I did cut the bump stop in half.

What do you do if you want or need to raise your truck back up??

·
Registered
2006 chevy
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
If you need to go back to stock just move the clip up to the stock groove. It is still there.

·
Banned
2006 chevy trailblazer_ss_lt
5,895 Posts
i think thats awesome. my only question is how do you move the spring mount? stick it in some sort of press? aren't you worried about comprimising the "tightness" and having it pop out of the groove?

·
Registered
2006 chevy
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
i think thats awesome. my only question is how do you move the spring mount? stick it in some sort of press? aren't you worried about comprimising the "tightness" and having it pop out of the groove?