Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2004 chevy trailblazer_lt_ext
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi!

I've got a problem with my 2004 Trailblazer and ended up having it towed to an auto shop I've never used before. I talked to the guy yesterday who said the problem solved like my catalytic converter. I told him I just replaced it last October (2009) and he told me I had two? Can anybody help me out and tell me how many catalytic converters are on 2004 Trailblazer (EXT) with a 4.2 liter L6 engine. I think the mechanic isn't being on the up & up with me.

Thanks in advance!

·
Banned
2004 gmc
26,181 Posts
There are two O2 sensors but only one cat. What problem caused you to get it towed? Did you have a SES light and what code was present?

Once a mechanic lies like that, all confidence flies out the window.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I was headed down the road after refueling. I stopped at a stop light and when I went to pull away from the light, I pushed on the gas, got a RPM rev but very little acceleration. I pulled off, turned off my engine and let it sit for 5-10 minutes. I was able to do a three-point turn to turn around, got on a side road and got up to 20 mph. Stopped at a stop sign and then got next to nothing (I think my speedometer actually read 0!) I pulled to the side of the road and called Triple A. No lights at all came on.

It's a high mileage vehicle (177,000 miles). I replaced the transmission about 18 months ago and it only has about 50-60K miles on it. The catalytic converter was replaced by my regular mechanic last fall and has been driving fine since. I'm kinda thinking I need to have it towed to the guy who I trust.

The mechanic where it was towed to said it's either the cat or the fuel pump. I talked to my regular mechanic this morning who said he inspected the fuel pump last fall (cause he thought that was the problem) but it was fine.

Thanks!

·
Registered