Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2002 chevy
226 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I live in ND along the Canadian border and it can be below zero for weeks on end. Even had a -30 week in Jan. Will having a CAI like Airaid give troubles? Also if I need to oil the filter, oil gets thicker in the cold and it makes sense that would restrict air quit a bit. I heard that Amsoil sells "Better-then-K&N" filters (there claim not mine). Would that not be better then an oiled filter in because of the sensorsand save on throttle body cleaning? I'm new to this so bear with me in my ignorence.

·
Registered
5,201 Posts
it'll be fine.......I had my CAI(K&N) for the last 2 years......in Alberta the coldest it gets can be about -30 degrees Celsius or colder...with a windchill it can go up to -50......I have noticed that throttle response is way better since the air is cold......I bought an extra filter and before snow falls(October).....I change over the filter for the winter.....they usually say about 25000km's or more you can get before you have to clean and re-oil......then when spring comes I change it again...BTW...the filter stays cleaner longer in the winter time compared to spring and summer....Good luck!!

·
Registered
2004 chevy trailblazer_ls
694 Posts
I'm sorry, but I saw this thread title and immediatley thought to myself. If you are running in consistant temps below freezing, do you even need one? Or would it be more beneficial to buy a radiator blanket? :dielaugh:

·
Registered
2002 chevy
226 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·