Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I'm new to trailvoy and there seems to be a wealth of knowledge to be found in these threads so here goes....

My 2002 Trailblazer LTZ (4.2 I6) has been running at high RPMs, around 6,000 at 65mph + and it doesn't seem to shift. Initially it would bog down when I first hit the pedal then after it started gaining speed it would rev high and stay there with little power output.

One shop thought it was a fan clutch issue which was replaced 3 years ago but decided that wasn't the problem, then they thought it was an AC issue because the problem is exagerated with the AC on high, then they thought it was a transmission problem but a local transmission shop said it was fine that it was a fuel filter.... Help!!

I replaced the fuel filter and it runs better in the lower RPM ranges but still revs high at higher speeds.

Any thoughts? Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
2009 chevy
6,431 Posts
Are you saying, that you've had this problem for 3 years OMG

You need to be able to tell what gear you are in at 65 mph. Can you feel the transmission shifting?

Can you see the transmission shifting? Watch the tach. With each shift, the rpms should drop and then proceed to climb again.

At 65 mph, in 4th gear, the tach should be around 2000 rpm.

Let us know

·
Registered
2004 gmc envoy_sle
40 Posts
What???

You have got to be joking....6,000 RPM at 65 MPH???? Man, something is seriously wrong here...It evidently is NOT shifting out of 2nd gear to rev that much....you are going to be very lucky if you haven't done some heavy damage to the engine if you've driven it much like this. I am surprised it hasn't completely fallen down and given up....the PCM is supposed to keep the engine from "over revving" but appartently it is not designed to keep this from happening.