Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First time posting. I thought I would give a quick report of some front end suspension work I did on my '05 TB EXT LS 4WD with 256,000 miles. I hope you guys can reply with some helpful tips for future DIYers. FYI: I am a college student and I do all my car work in my grandfather's gravel driveway in another town using his tools.

My wheel bearings started making humming/grinding noise that matched the speed of the vehicle. I decided to just replace both, since I've only had the TB for a year, and I was unsure the last time they were replaced. Also, I knew my lower ball joints had a little play and decided to replace those while I was that deep. I had also been having an issue where, occasionally, when I would hit a bump while driving, a rumble/vibration that sounded like my entire front end was falling apart would happen for a couple seconds after the bump--but it wasn't after every bump. After some research, I deduced it was probably the sway bar links. I also replaced a CV axle that had a leaking boot. I'm just going to talk about replacing the CV shaft and bearing assemblies here, I will post in a different place the ball joints and sway bar links. So now to the work I did.