1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2006 chevy trailblazer_ls
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy.

I have a 2006 TB 4.2 liter. 172k miles.

I have been fighting the P0171 code for a few months now. It showed up when the weather started to get cold. There has been no notable difference in how the car runs when throwing the code, idles great at 600 RPM, runs fine, no problems except the light on my dash.

I have cleaned the MAF, cleaned the throttle body, ran every kind of fuel additive/cleaner through it. Air filter is a K&N. Air intake temp sensor seems to be functioning normally. I have an UltraGauge and use that to monitor the vehicle and clear the code. P0171 is the only code that pops up.

About three years ago the TB started running really rough and almost always dying when idling in cold weather. Put a new O2 sensor in it and that fixed it. So I am pretty sure I isn't an O2 sensor now.

If anyone can help me diagnose the issue here, that would be great. I plan to sell this rig soon when I buy a new truck. Not trying to pass any problems to the next guy, that car runs and drives like it did when I bought it 10 years and 120k miles ago. Just this stupid code sets off the CEL daily.

·
Registered
2006 chevy trailblazer_lt
76 Posts
This is a heavy discussed topic for the Trailblazer, Envoy and Bravada, as it is a common problem with the 4.2L I6 engine. Plain and simple, the minimums to change out are the intake manifold gasket (make certain all mating surfaces are clean) and change out the PCV breather hose. The minimums to do after those repairs, clean out the PCV port on top of the valve cover with a pipe cleaner and a minimal amount of carburetor cleaner, change out the dry rotted or missing cap on the front, passenger's side of the intake manifold vacuum port.

Change out if your vehicle has one or both of the following: