Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2004 chevy trailblazer_ls_ext
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an 04 EXT with just under 150k miles. When I started this adventure the
rig still had the factory struts and sway bar, with 20"rims.

After a few years of owning it, I noticed a clunk coming from the drivers front wheel well when I went over a bump or pot hole. As an experienced Hobby mechanic, i replaced the sway bar bushings. Didn't help it a bit. :x

Next, I decided the struts where probably worn out, both from time and the larger rims. So I went to Rock Auto and got the Monroe struts, and a spring compressor, and swapped it out. I noticed while i was doing it that the upper strut mounts were pretty well worn, so I replaced those too. now it sounded like wet sneakers on a polished floor. Squeaking VERY loudly out of both sides. :bonk:

I realized this was because I didn't replace the lower spring isolators, and didn't clean the spring very well. So i bought new isolators and installed them yesterday. the clunk is still on the driver side and the passenger side sounds like a really old box spring!

I can fix the squeaking, but why am I getting the clunking? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
2002 gmc envoy_sle
12 Posts
Clunking noise

I just replaced shocks & struts on my 2002 Envoy. Ordered all 4 swaybar end links & bushings, put the rears on, fronts are on back order. (I had been getting that clunking sound too) What I found when replacing the passenger front strut assembly is the upper ball joint is completely worn out and is probably the cause of that clunking noise.

·
Registered
2004 gmc envoy_slt
2,245 Posts
You say you replaced the sway bar bushings, did you inspect the end links for wear or looseness? The clunking sounds like loose or failed end links.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #4