Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2002 gmc envoy_slt
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey eveyone, this is my first time posting but I've been reading it for a while now and from the looks of it, it looks like I have a bcm problem just dont know which one, my symptoms are (while driving my gauges die, switches from driver 1 to 2, mirrors change, headlights start flashing, seat switches, pretty much everything switches controls but my rear wiper still works and I found out how to fix it while Im driving or parked, I have to open and shut the door sometimes once sometimes 4 times please help.

·
Banned
2004 gmc
26,181 Posts
I would bet a LOT more that it's flaky wiring or a ground, rather than a dead module.

Do you have a meter and know how to use it? Check the BCM voltage at the rear fuse block. Reseat the bolts holding down the megafuse. Check the grounds at the fender edge where the battery and engine tie in.

The rear wiper is run by the liftgate module, not the BCM, so that's a good sign.

Have you reseated the connectors for the BCM to make sure they're not oxidized?

Slamming the door is a hint that it may be something that can be physically jostled, and a real BCM death would not be intermittent like this, since it's an electronic module.

Possibly it's other modules jabbering on the data bus, but that's more difficult to troubleshoot.

·
Registered
2002 gmc envoy_slt
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have not really looked or done anyting to it yet, I kind of wanted to get some what of an answer first, but I was told that it could be a ground issue and that is not what I wanted to hear because I didnt know where to start with all of the grounds on that thing and Iforgot to add that I have had the bcm reprogramed by the dealer free of charge because it happened after I bought it but it still did it.

·
Registered
2004 gmc envoy_slt_xl
3 Posts
Paul

My first post too.