Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2006 Chevy Trailblazer 4.2L I6
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time posting to the forum so please forgive me if this isn't the right place to ask this question. I have been using Trailvoy for information since purchasing my 2006 Trailblazer last October. And to my surprise I am having a problem that I cannot find discussed here. As the title states my air conditioner completely shuts off when turned to 5. 1-4 work normally but there's nothing happening on 5. This just started a couple days ago. I did mess with the a/c harness when I installed a Flex-a-Lite electric fan with an AutoCool III controller from autocoolguy.com. But that was a few months ago and this problem just started. Hopefully someone here will know something because I am stumped.

I would also like to take this oppurtunity to thank everyone who takes the time to contribute to this forum. The library of knowledge housed here has been very beneficial for me. I felt I needed to say that.

·
Registered
1,628 Posts
This is a typical problem that can be from a couple of trouble makers on most GM vehicles.

1. The control that you twist to "5" can burn internally in that switch. It usually ruins the switch and you have to replace the whole thing.
2. The so-called: "module" that is really a printed circuit board that has a bunch of resistors micro-printed on it. There is nothing that is processor'd or any transistors on it at all - therefore it is not a module in the strictest sense.

The HIGH speed circuit will sometimes fail because of excessive current draw by the blower motor and for that, there are many reasons that I'll try to post for you. a) an old dying motor with b) bad bearings or c) a plugged up air filter (if you even have one, that is).