Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
2003 gmc envoy_sle
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would like to apoligize if this post needs to go some where differnt, I am new to this whole thread and online thing. Used to just being able to call upon family but I have moved and have no one here to help me!! :(

I have self diagnosed :woot: my 2004 GMC Envoy 6 cly. to have a bad water pump (also confirmed by firestone). I have bought the water pump online <new> to save money, and was wondering if there is any other part that I should replace while the shop repairs my water pump.
I know its alot of labor and I want to replace everything that needs to be replaced while I can.
I have read on here that there is no timing "belt" in my truck but a "timing chain" and that doesnt need to be replaced unless it breaks?

I also have read to replace the serpintine belt, but can the old pulley be used since it is a bolt on? It was makin a squealing sound but the seller i bought the water pump from said it was bc the water pump was bad, that when bolted back in the new WP it wont squeel anymore....

Before my truck started makin sounds like migets throwin rocks around under my hood and wobbling so much the fan was hiting the plastic shrouding..two things were happening... 1. my check engine light was comming on and when checked it coded- tempature sensor bad- i had no overheating tho
. 2. When i would start my truck up 3 out of 5 times it would sound like a navy jet plane about to take off..seriously just "i thought" reving to high..but was told it was prolly my fan spinning insanly high? :weird: Thought maybe i needed a fan clutch?
I have came to all these conclusions by simply readin your forums and searchin the intenet and printing out stuff..soin out to my truck and lookin under the hood..i have to go by pictures b/c i know the "correct' names of nothing.