Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2006 chevy trailblazer_ls
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was taking my girlfriend out for our anniversary (starting good huh?) when I fire up my 06 TB and it started sputtering and jerking in idle. Issues were similar while Oscar Mike .Tried running through last tank of gas then filled up with "89" to see if the quality of fuel was a problem but issue remains. Had a tester plugged a few days later hoping it would flash up the problem and solution but then the guy pinched me and woke me up from a dream when all that was found was a misfire in cyl 1 and he couldn’t tell me were to begin... I’m not a mechanic but I am a computer technician with a pretty good grasp on deduction and reasoning. I know that troubleshooting is troubleshooting no matter how you swing it. I have a new spark plug in my glove comp but I wanted to see if there are any ideas or hints to start me off on my journey. FWI, I'm a 22 college student and this is my first Chevy and had it for 2 months and hope that this will be my last vehicle for at least 4 years... :worried: please help me figure this thing out. I joined this site because the content I read before hand was top notch and hoping one of these days I will be able to contribute.
PS. I’m not afraid to get my hands dirty since I spent about 20 hours rigging my 92 Dakota until I could afford a new ride: rear U-joint, fuel pump, water pump, and 5-6 yrs of self maintenance and tune ups.

·
Registered
2005 chevy trailblazer_ls
164 Posts
Could be as simple as a fouled plug

This issue could be as simple as a fouled out plug. When was the last time you had the spark plugs changed? I would also try running some Techron or Seafoam though it because it could be a lazy injector. either way nothing too bad. and neither requires too much work. THese would be the best starting points that cost the least.

·
Registered
2004 chevy trailblazer_ls
207 Posts