Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2006 Chevy Trailblazer with the 5.3 V8. The engine light is on for a cylinder 1 misfire and the engine light flashes while driving along with smoke that comes out the exhaust. Im mechanically inclined for the most part but i am no mechanic so i dont know everything. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I also had it checked over and there is spark and fuel to that cylinder but little to no compression. I bought it about a month ago and it has been doing it since i bought it.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Sounds like a bad coil.
Pull it and the plug and see what the plug looks like.
You can swap coils from one cylinder to the other and see if #1 works.
If it does then #1 coil is bad.
Good luck,
Peter C.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have done the trick with swapping the coils nothing changes. I have also checked the sparkplug and its new. Plug wires are also new. I forgot to add that I'm sorry

·
Registered
2,103 Posts
No matter what --- the flashing light is telling you that you are killing your cat.

I've always said that just a flashing light without a small hammer that comes out of the headrest to really get the attention of the driver, is a waste of a good light bulb.

·
Registered
2,103 Posts
Does the smoke linger or disappear quic6? (*quick)

Smell it ... is it sweet or sharp enough to water your eyes or smells like hot coolant?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Its not bad enough that it waters your eyes but its a strongish smell it smokes mostly when you are driving and when idling its more of a slight smoke

·
Registered
2003 chevy trailblazer_ltz
237 Posts
The engine light is on for a cylinder 1 misfire and the engine light flashes