Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I recently purchased an '05 with 78k that hadn't had any fluids replaced except regular oil changes. I've done front/rear diffs, transfer and brakes (I've also cleaned TB and replaced on brake pads). I have trans and PS left to do (and I guess I'll look into coolant as well). Looking to do transmission next and haven't decided on method. The color and smell of the fluid look fine from the dipstick. Light in color. Chris Fix has a video where he shows "good", "needs replaced" and "bad fluid" colors on paper towels. Mine matches the good.

I've watched some videos on doing a change while having the vehicle pump out the old fluid through the cooler line. I watched the video and feel I could accomplish this but that's if all goes well and it feels like a lot more risk than just dropping the pan. And since I'm still pretty new to working on cars, I'd like to minimize risk when possible. What are you opinions? Given that the fluid still looks light, would it be ok to just change the few quarts in the pan? How long should that get me until the next change should be done?

I had considered replacing the pan with a Dorman that has a drain pug but there were a lot of bad reviews about the plug leaking and defective stamping of the rim of the pan which might cause leaking.