Chevy TrailBlazer, TrailBlazer SS and GMC Envoy Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2002 chevy trailblazer_ltz
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm a former mechanic, and a do-it-yourselfer. I've just replaced the rack and pinion, after it continued to leak. Now I followed the rules when replacing the rack, I disconnected the battery, completed the repair, and after repairs were complete, recconnected the battery. When I did, the airbag light was on. I read these forums, and having read a few posts, I determined that it could be lose wires within the ignition module (had some issues before with it cranking) so I replaced that. Now it has no trouble cranking, but it still has the "SERVICE AIRBAG" message. The only other posts I see are saying it could be a connector under the seat, or the SDM needs reprogramming. The question is what should I do here? I'm trying to sell the truck so I don't want to dump another $800 into it to get it perfect for someone else.

·
Registered
2002 gmc envoy_slt
69 Posts
I would get it tested at autozone for free or someone with a scanner and see what codes exactly it is showing before throwing parts at it..

I changed both my front sensors, the air bag module under the center console, and my broken clock spring before fixing it a few weeks ago..

post what code you have here and see what we can come up with...

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
I took it to Advance yesterday and the code reader had no code....yeah that's kinda how it's been. I'm sure the diagnostic fee of $75 to tell me I need a new SDM or a reprogram will only irritate the situation. Is there a way I can reset the module without sending it off or replacing it?

Oh another symptom: the steering wheel A/C controls and the radio controls don't work at all.

·
Registered
2002 gmc envoy_slt
69 Posts